Monster Reading

We are doing A LOT of reading in kindergarten! One important skill in regards to reading is tracking or one-to-one correspondence. This simply means that students are touching each word as they read it. Pointing to each word as the student reads helps the reader learn to look carefully at print. It also encourages directional movement and voice-print match, two early reading behaviors. This week we practiced decoding words using some monster finger puppets. The students LOVED this and were begging to read more!

I am always on the lookout for fun finger puppets. I found these monsters at my favorite Dollar Tree. I also found these googly eyes. I love that students are practicing an important skill while having fun!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *